History

History

The banks of Neva-river, buildings’ maze…
From sun to sun, we wish to wander here…
The Peter’s potentate and splendid place
Arose, to be enthroned everywhere…

History of Petrogradskaya Side

Rich history of Petrogradskaya Side is inseparable from the history of Saint Petersburg, since it is here that the city was founded to become the capital of Russia for many years to come.

Traditionally, Petrogradskaya Side (in the 18th century – Gorodovaya Side, Gorodskaya Side, and until 1914 – Peterburgskaya Side) includes a group of islands, with the largest one bearing the name of Petrogradsky (formerly, Peterburgsky). This is the oldest historic district of the city founded by Peter the First in 1703 by laying the Peter-and-Paul Fortress, then called Sankt-Peters-Burch, on the Jänissaari (Zayachy (Hare)) Island.

It is Petrogradsky Island that accommodated the first buildings of the city, which are the Peter’s wooden house, the first mint, the Senate house, and the customs; diplomatic missions of European countries and administrative offices are opening here. The Trinity Cathedral erected on the first square of the city became the main cathedral church of the capital. The city center was initially established just beside of the fortress.

However, for a long period afterwards, the island district was cut off from the “Mainland” by the absence of bridges or ferries; it was green and clean there. Aristocrats, political barons, and bank owners took pleasure in erecting their residences on the Peterburgskaya Side.

Following the emergence of bridges in the late 19th century, most intensive construction projects were concentrated on the Peterburgskaya Side. Within a decade, its architectural appearance changed completely: one-floor small wooden houses were replaced by magnificent quarters of high-rise tenement buildings, and significant public institutions. Masters of “frozen music” such as F. Lidval, E. Virrich, V. Shaub, L. Benois, A. Ackerman, D. Kryzhanovsky, A. Belogrud, and many others could show their creative abilities in this place. At that particular time, scientific and creative elite began concentrate in this part of the city.

Petrogradskaya Side or Petrogradka, as the local residents call it, is a completely unique part of the city to love and be proud of.

In addition to the beautiful architecture of the streets and charm of the small yards, there you will find all necessary things for convenient everyday life, work, and leisure time, including a variety of shops, exquisite restaurants, shopping centers, small cozy coffee-houses; theater and sports life of the city is pulsing through this quarter as well.

Bolshaya Zelenina street

The name of the Street “Zeleinaya” originated from an Old Russian word “zelie” (“potion”), which meant “powder”, since in 1710, in this part of the island, where the Karpovka river meets the Malaya Nevka, and an entrance to the Big Krestovsky Bridge is situated, Peter the First ordered to found and build the first in the city state-owned Powder (“zeleiny”) Plant, and here Zeleinaya Sloboda was settled.

Peter the Great personally chose the place for construction in the mouth of the Karpovka “for military event and best way”.

The place was chosen not accidentally. The Plant was situated not far from the Peter-and-Paul Fortress, which allowed for expeditious and convenient supply of the fortifications and close garrisons with powder.

There was laid Zeleinaya Road from the Crownwork of the Peter-and-Paul Fortress to the Powder Plant, to deliver the powder to the artillery fortifications of the fortress.

The north section of the Road formed the today’s Bolshaya Zelenina Street. However, initially, it had no name, and it was only in 1738 that it became Koltovskaya Street after the Koltovsky regiment barracks safeguarding the Plant.

There is a point of history that the first master invited from Holland died all of a sudden, leaving secrets of power production to nobody except his wife. Therefore, the master’s widow, Elena (Valentina) de Vaal was admitted to the service to teach powder production to the apprentices, and she managed the Plant for some time.

Shortly after the closure of the Powder Plant, the Emperor Paul I presented the land to the court wardrobe master I.F. Gesler, and the latter built up the district with summer houses.

It is interesting to note the history of how the Street changed its names. From 1777, the Street was called Zeleinaya, from 1798 – Bolshaya Zeleinaya. The Street map of 1828 calls it the “First Bolshaya Zeleinaya Street”. By the middle of the 19th century, the word “zelie” in the sense of “powder” had been forgotten. The Street turned from Bolshaya Zeleinaya into Bolshaya Zelenaya, and in 1849, it was renamed Bolshaya Zelenina, which became an official name displayed on the city maps.

The name “Zelenina” was also associated with plants. The locals believed that the Street ought its name to a small green wood.

Starting from 1861, the Street was built up with stone buildings. In the early 20th century, construction developed. Many of the houses existing now are the architectural monuments built before 1917. Of these, the former tenement house owed by Duke N.N. Leichtenbergsky (No. 28), and house owed by A.Yu. Keibel (No. 33) can be distinguished

Some philologists believe that the first two acts of the Blok’s drama “The Stranger” took place at the tavern on Bolshaya Zelenina Street and near the Krestovsky Bridge. The poet was fond of wandering along these streets, which were well-known to him.

The names of famous people such as admiral A.V. Kolchak, academic Yu. A. Shimansly, artist B.M. Kustodiev, academic V.G. Khlopin, writer M.M. Zoshchenko, and others are closely tied with the history of Bolshaya Zelenina Street…

История

История

Невы теченье, лабиринт дворов…
Бродить мы здесь могли бы до заката…
Великий начинался град Петров
На этих самых берегах когда-то…

История
Петроградского района

Богатая история Петроградской стороны неотделима от истории Санкт-Петербурга, ведь именно здесь был заложен город, ставший на долгое время столицей России.

Традиционно Петроградской стороной (в XVIII в. — Городовой, Городской, а до 1914 г. Петербургской стороной) называется группа островов, самый крупный из которых носит название Петроградский. Это старейший исторический район города, строительство которого Петр I начал в 1703 г. закладкой на острове Jänissaari (Заячьем) Петропавловской крепости, названной в то время Санкт-Питер-бурх.

Именно на Петроградском острове появились первые строения города - деревянный дом Петра Великого, первый монетный двор, здание Сената, таможня, здесь открываются дипломатические представительства европейских стран и административные учреждения. На первой в городе площади был возведен деревянный Троицкий собор, получивший статус главного кафедрального собора столицы. В непосредственной близости от крепости стал первоначально складываться городской центр.

Однако затем долгое время островной район был отрезан от «большой земли» отсутствием мостов и переправ, здесь было зелено и чисто. На Петербургской стороне с удовольствием строили свои резиденции аристократы, крупные чиновники и банкиры.

C появлением мостов в конце ХIХ столетия Петербургская сторона стала местом самого интенсивного строительства в городе. В течение десяти лет ее архитектурный облик совершенно изменился: вместо одноэтажных деревянных домишек поднялись великолепные кварталы многоэтажных доходных домов, значительных общественных зданий. Свои творческие таланты здесь проявили такие признанные мастера архитектуры как Ф.Лидваль, Э.Виррих, В.Шауб, Л.Бенуа, А.Аккерман, Д.Крыжановский, А.Белогруд и многие другие. Именно в это время в этой части города концентрируется научная и творческая интеллигенция.

Петроградская сторона или Петроградка, как называют район местные жители, совершенно особенная часть города, которую любят и гордятся.

Помимо прекрасной архитектуры улиц, очарования двориков – есть здесь все необходимое для удобной жизни, работы и отдыха – разнообразные магазины, изысканные рестораны, торговые центры, маленькие уютные кафе, здесь кипит театральная и спортивная жизнь города.

Большая зеленина улица

Если Вы заинтересовались ЖК «Дом на Зелейной», то предлагаем вам познакомиться и с историей дома на Зеленина 34 в СПб, которая неразрывно связана с историей улицы. Название эта улица получила от старорусского слова «зелье», означавшего порох, т.к. в 1710 г. в этой части острова, где река Карповка впадает в Малую Невку и расположен въезд на современный Большой Крестовский мост основывается и строится по указу Петра I первый в городе казенный пороховой («зелейный») завод, а также размещается Зелейная слобода.

Петр Первый самолично выбрал место для строительства в устье Карповки «к военному случаю и лучшему способу».

Место не было случайным. Завод находился недалеко от Петропавловской крепости, и это давало возможность быстро и удобным способом снабжать порохом крепостные укрепления и размещенные поблизости гарнизоны.

От Кронверка Петропавловской крепости до порохового завода и была проложена «Зелейная дорога», по которой порох доставлялся на артиллерийские укрепления крепости. Именно там в наши дни находится дом на Зеленина, 34.

Cеверный участок этой дороги образовал нынешнюю Большую Зеленину улицу. Однако, изначально она не имела названия и лишь в 1738 г. стала Колтовской улицей по названию расположенных поблизости казарм Колтовского полка, обеспечивающих охрану завода.

Существует исторический факт о том, что первый мастер, выписанный из Голландии внезапно умер, не оставив никому, кроме своей жены секретов мастерства производства пороха. И, таким образом, вдова мастера Елена (Валентина) де Вааль была принята на службу с условием обучить пороховому делу подмастерье, и некоторое время руководила пороховым производством.

Вскоре после закрытия Порохового завода эта земля была пожаловала императором Павлом I придворному гардеробмейстеру И.Ф. Геслеру, который застроил ее дачами.

Как мы уже упоминали выше, ЖК «Дом на Зелейной» расположен в Санкт-Петербурге по адресу Зеленина 34. Интересно, как изменялось название улицы. С 1777 г. улица называлась просто Зелейной, с 1798 г. — Большой Зелейной. На плане 1828 г. улица обозначена как 1-я Большая Зелейная улица. К середине XIX в. слово «зелье» забылось. Улица из Большой Зелейной превратилась в Большую Зелёную, а с 1849 г. — Большую Зеленину улицу, с этого момента название приобрело официальный характер и впервые появляется на картах города.

Название «Зеленина» также связывалось с понятием о зелени. Жители считали, что этим названием улица обязана находившейся на ней зелёной роще.

Начиная с 1861 г. улица начала застраиваться каменными домами. Строительство усилилось в начале ХХ в. Большое количество существующих ныне домов являются памятниками архитектуры и построены до 1917 г. Среди них выделяются бывший доходный дом герцога Н.Н. Лейхтенбергского (дом №28) и дом А.Ю. Кейбеля (дом №33).

Некоторые филологи убеждены, что первые два акта драмы Блока «Незнакомка» разыгрываются в трактире на Большой Зелениной и у Крестовского моста. Поэт любил бродить в этих местах, которые были ему хорошо известны.

С историей Большой Зелениной улицы тесно связаны имена таких известных людей, как адмирал А.В. Колчак, академик Ю. А. Шиманский, художник Б. М. Кустодиев, академик В. Г. Хлопин, писатель М. М. Зощенко и других… И именно здесь, в доме на Большой Зелениной, мы предлагаем поселиться Вам!

Узнать более подробную информацию о покупке уютной одно-, двух- или трехкомнатной квартиры бизнес-класса в СПб в доме на Зеленина 34 Вы можете по т. +7 (812) 332-50-60.